Mexican Summer Salad

3 Jul

Mexican Summer Salad

As the weather has been anything but summery recently, I have taken matters into my own hands and decided to create summer on a plate.  This also nicely coincided with a craving for corn on the cob.  So here goes my attempt at a Mexican summer dinner (disclaimer alert: I have never been to Mexico so this may not be totally authentic!)

I’m giving you the know how to make the salad and the corn, but use your foodie wisdom to finish off the meal with something like tortilla chips (make sure they are 100% corn/maize, 100% gluten free), and maybe a fresh guacamole dip.

The ingredients…

…For the salad (I’m gonna leave the amounts up to you.  I trust your salad wisdom and judgement):

Gem lettuce

Cherry tomatoes

Cucumber

Capers

Sweetcorn (optional here really.  I just fancied max-ing out on the little yellow niblets!)

Sunflower seeds

Sundried tomatoes

Avocado

A little drizzle of olive oil (I used some of the olive oil I use to store my sun/oven dried tomatoes in so it is nicely infused with all that tomato-y goodness)

Shavings of Manchego cheese (or other hard cheese)

…For the corn on the cob:

2 ears of Corn (on the cob, stripped of the husks)

1 tbsp Mayonnaise

½ tsp Smoked paprika

Wedge of lime

The recipe:

  1. Chop or tear the lettuce, slice the cucumber and tomatoes and toss together with all the other salad ingredients.  Voila!  Your salad.
  2. Steam the corn ears for 7-8 mins
  3. Mix the mayonnaise and the paprika in bowl
  4. Serve the corn with a dollop of the mayonnaise and a wedge of lime
  5. Serve

 

Post meal analysis:  Very tasty and a thoroughly enjoyable dinner, however it is still raining outside.

Leave a Reply

