Butternut Squash Gnocchi

3 Oct

Butternut Squash Gnocchi

Now, I made gnocchi once before, but with sweet potato, but I think they were too dense and not the fluffy little pillows that I was hoping for.  I think part of the reason was because I boiled the sweet potato rather than roasted and so it retained a lot of water, so I had to compensate by adding LOADS of (gluten free) flour.  I learnt my lesson, so this time, roasting was on the cards.

What with Hallowe’en round the corner, I was contemplating pumpkin gnocchi.  But obviously my local supermarket didn’t have the same idea as me, so I had to plump for butternut squash.  If you don’t fancy this, you could try with (roasted) sweet potato, normal potatoes, maybe even parsnip gnocchi might work… maybe too sweet… I’m sure someone out there has tried it.

The ingredients:

2 butternut squash (medium)

Drizzle of olive oil/vegetable oil

Salt and pepper

At least 400g Gluten free flour (I used Doves Farm Plain white flour blend) the amount will probably vary depending on how watery your butternut squash is, so it is best to have a plentiful supply.

The recipe:

  1. Peel and cut the butternut squash into chunks (smaller pieces will cook faster)
  2. Put into a baking tray with a drizzle of oil and a sprinkle of salt and pepper, toss to make sure the squash is coated in the oil and put into a pre-heated oven at 190 degrees Celsius until cooked through (about 30 mins, but again this depends on the size you cut the squash into!)
  3. When cooked, mash the butternut squash until smooth (I even squished mine through a sieve but I don’t think it was entirely necessary)
  4. Put the mash into a mixing bowl and add the flour (about 50g) at a time, mixing well, until you get a dough like consistency.
  5. Lightly dust a clean work surface with (gluten free) flour, take a ball of the dough and roll out into a long thin sausage.  It should be about the width of your little finger, and even.
  6. Chop the butternut squash sausage into little sections of about 1cm each.  These are your gnocchi.  Try to make sure each piece is the same size so that it cook evenly.
  7. Boil a sauce pan of water and add about a large handful of the gnocchi.  Be gentle with it and don’t try to put too much in the saucepan as it will all stick together.
  8. When the gnocchi rise to the surface, they are cooked.  This should take about 3 minutes.
  9. Drain and serve with your favourite sauce (I did mine with a beurre noisette sauce with roasted tomatoes and basil, in case you were interested!)

 

2 Responses to “Butternut Squash Gnocchi”

  1. shellywest October 3, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    YUM! Gnocci is one of my favorites…love the fall twist on it!

    • larafriendly October 4, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      Thank you! and it’s sooooo easy to make.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

